Surprise!

There’s good news and bad news!

JPEG_20170929_150712

Good news! The book actually came out earlier than I expected. Those pre-order sites all said Oct 12th~13th, but it actually came out on Sep 28th! I immediately went to the nearest store and bought myself the volume. I’m not going to wait for my pre-order to arrive.

Now the bad news! Of course, I’m going to spend the next 1-3 days reading this volume slowly, but beside the point, next week is a really big holiday in Korea so I have to go meet my relatives for a week. I can’t really start translating until Oct 7th~9th. Furthermore, I’ll be finished with my public service on October 20th, so I’ll also be relatively busy until then since the people at my work will most likely make me do a lot more stuff until I’m finished. If I’m lucky, I’ll have enough free time to translate, but if I’m not, then I’ll have a rather limited time frame. Moreover, I’m not sure what I’ll do about the illustrations. I usually hold my back from releasing chapters until I get proper scans of the illustrations, but the person who does it for me most likely won’t receive his copy of the volume until much later. I’ll think over this during the weekend so expect a post later on at the end of next week about it.

38 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. Overall, feels like good news to me. You being busy or having to wait for the scans was going to happen anyways, and this way you have more time to read and let it sit inside your brain.
    I await the translations expectantly!

    Liked by 7 people

    1. No no. That’s obviously Laura de Farnese, the big guy I’m not sure. Even if it’s not marbas, but if a demon lord vows allegiance to Farnese (a human) the implications would be huge. I’m getting excited just thinking about it!!!

      Like

  2. I fail to see the bad news. If we assumed that the preorder was going to come out on October 12/13th would you not have had to spend the same amount of time reading it? Thank you for the update and we all hope that you continue to enjoy the book so that we can enjoy it soon too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear translator,
    It is a great joy for us to hear that the novel was released early. Please do not worry about the amount of time it takes you to translate the volume. This is one of my favorite novels, so waiting is not an issue really. On the contrary I’m greatful to you for translating it from Korean to English. I hope you have a nice holiday with your family.

    Like

  4. Bad news: I can start translating 2 weeks earlier. Or may be not.

    Best bad news I ever heard!

    Also +1 for rudygb17.
    And the translation quality is always top notch.
    ❤ u Shalv

    Like

  5. I normally would never ever suggest such a thing because it is kinda sacrilegious, but since you did preorder the book AND went to buy it on the day of the release, you probably will find yourself in possesion of two copies of the book, right?

    In that case you could try to carefully undo the binding – CAREFULLY! – in order to get single pages, if possible without damaging and/or bending/folding them. Then you could scan the pictures individually. This method gives pretty high quality scans but sacrifices a book, hence my disaproval of the method in normal cases.

    Well, in case you do not possess a scanner, there should exist stores offering scanning services. I do not know about Korea, but where I live those are commonly found near universeries or libraries, and they offer to scan Pages up to sice DIN A1 or sometimes even higher into digital copies (usually either PNG, TIFF, or BMP format) for a metaphorical quarter and a dime.
    Again, I am not aware of the situation in Korea, but you may want to look into it.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. At first I thought that girl had a knight do her a cuni….super great news anyway;) i don’t know if I will wait until you finish to translate the book or not🤔

    Like

  7. That looks like only good news to me! Have a great holiday and eat good food and stuff with your family. I’m looking forward to when you have a chance to start translating 🙂

    Like

  8. My day just officially became great! This lowly leach shall patiently await it’s food. Thank you for the amazing news!

    Like

Leave a comment