A more detailed update about what happened.


First things first, if any of you guys suddenly receive a message from a friend on Discord asking you for a favor, then immediately start doubting them until you can fully confirm that it is indeed your friend.

I promised to explain the situation in more detail today.

A close friend of mine got his Discord account hacked and the hacker used his account to message me. He basically asked for a ‘favor’ which I foolishly accepted because this friend was someone who had done things for me and our friend group in the past, so I was happy to oblige. He was also someone I had talked to just last week, so it wasn’t like an old friend from long ago had suddenly messaged me. This hacker was a bit smart and didn’t just copy-paste some simple script. He used the same emotes that my friend would often use and that was the main reason I got thrown off. In any case, I downloaded what they sent like an idiot and that resulted in them getting my Discord token which allowed them to get past my 2fa once and log into my account. They quickly took over and immediately started contacting all of my friends with the same kind of dialogue. I confirmed with my friends that the hacker used the same emotes that I often used. Thankfully, although some got close, no one I know, as of yet, got hacked as well through their interaction with the hacker on my account.

So, the hacker demanded $300 from me to get my account back, which I obviously didn’t give an immediate response to. I was hoping to stall him long enough for Discord to lock my account, but, unfortunately, as I said in the previous post, the hacker purged everything on my account before Discord support could do anything. Discord support did thankfully lock the account a few hours later, but the damage had already been done. All of the servers I owned, including the smaller servers I had with friends, were deleted.

And now we’ve come to the present. I created a new Discord server which might end up becoming the new permanent one considering everything we already did on it and the number of boosts it got. It’s also a way to purge out the inactive members, I guess? If Discord support is able to restore the server and all the members that were in it, then I’ll probably just lock all of the channels and put an invite link to the new server.

In regard to my Discord account, it’s still locked. My friend’s account had its name and profile picture changed, so the hacker is probably trying to sell it. The hacker lost access to my account since it got locked, so nothing like that has happened to it. The Discord support team has yet to respond to my support ticket and it’s been more than 24 hours. I know they’re looking into it since I messaged them on Twitter and I was told that they had ‘escalated this to the Trust and Safety Team’. It was also through messaging them on Twitter that I was able to get my account locked. I imagine they’re being flooded with cases right now, so it’ll take them a while to actually get to my ticket properly. According to a few friends of mine who had been hacked before, they told me it took them around 2 months before they finally got their accounts restored. I imagine it’ll be the same for me as well. I just have to be patient.

I’m still greatly depressed about all of this, but I’m pushing through. I haven’t exactly been in a translating mood since this all happened, so the next chapter release will probably be a bit late. Sorry about that.

I’ll see you guys whenever I’m able to get the next chapter done.

4 thoughts on “A more detailed update about what happened.

  1. Chin up. On the bright side, at least you learnt this lesson on a personal account, and not a company account. You will be that much more aware of people acting suspicious now. I’ve had something similar happen to me, but on a personal email address (back in the hotmail days). It sucks, but we have to move on.

    Best of luck!

    Like

Leave a comment