We Should Have Slept While Only Holding Hands, And Yet?!: Volume 3 – Author & Illustrator’s Afterwords


Author’s Afterword

Ο

Ο

Ο

Hello. It’s been 4 months this time since we last met. It’s everyone’s friend, our friend, lazy Ryu Hosung. First things first, I’m sorry. Originally, I was supposed to have adhered to the 3-month cycle and released this last month, but like this, I was a month late. This is all the fault of a lacking author······.

I’ll talk about the gloomy stuff later, for now, I’ll start with the bright stuff.

Producer! Drama CD, it’s a Drama CD!

Yes. It’s a Drama CD. Would a day like this arrive while I’m still alive······? Something that I had always dreamed about has finally occurred. My tears of joy are making my vision hazy······.

Talks about this started around March when I began writing volume 3, but I honestly didn’t believe it. I still can’t believe it even after I finished the manuscript, after having personally gone to the recording studio, and while writing this afterword. This isn’t a joke, right? It’s really coming out, right? You aren’t going to read this afterword and be like ‘What? A Handholding Drama CD? I won’t allow it!’, right?

I’m absolutely honored that experienced, talented, and excellent voice actors/actresses participated in the making of the Drama CD. I’ll be meeting you all once more later on, but I’m just saying this because it’s really hard to believe. Furthermore, my lacking story allowed me to be honored with these people’s presence all thanks to you all for having read my story and cheered me on. I’m truly thankful. I’ll show my appreciation once more later on.

Now then, back to the gloomy topic······.

This 3rd volume was the hardest thing I ever had to write so far. Well, it’s not like I’ve written a lot, but it was the hardest out of everything I’ve done. The one month delay, I’m repeating this because it’s important, absolutely wasn’t because I was messing around. I was seriously working hard. I worked hard day and night······.

In truth, not only is this 3rd volume a turning point, but it’s the most important part of the series that I’ve been wanting to write since volume 1. You could also say that I made a mad dash to write this.

Because of this, in order to create a setting that could naturally explain the character relationships that’ve been built up until now and everything else, I pulled my hair out as I pondered about how I could put this in logically, so, naturally, I needed a lot of time. This is the first reason it took me a lot of time.

The second reason is, naturally, I wanted to write this because I enjoyed it, but I also had to think about whether my readers would enjoy this as well. Instead of the nice and warm atmosphere until now, I wondered about how you all would accept this serious change of pace. Am I going to receive negative reviews again? More importantly, would I not be betraying my readers who’ve been waiting for this volume? Because of these worries, my confidence disappeared and that naturally affected my progress. This is the second reason.

The third reason is, as expected, because I wanted to show you guys a good story. It’s true that the 1st volume’s advertisement was hard carried by the great Yoo Nameul, and it’s not like I’m displeased by that, but as an author, I have a desire to also receive good reviews because of my story as well. In order to achieve this, I went beyond my limit and delayed the release while also giving up a fair portion of my normal life. I would appreciate it if you all enjoyed it that much······.

In any case, after roaming around like that, it took a fair amount of time as a result of trying to handle a lot of topics and in order to not disappoint my readers. I’m sorry. It also became thicker. I’m sorry. If I can be forgiven even a little bit by how entertaining my story was, then I could hope for nothing more. I’ll work even harder than this from now on.

Suiting the term ‘turning point’ 〈We Should Have Slept While Only Holding Hands, And Yet?!〉 is now entering its second half. Please continue to look forward to the future releases and enjoy it together.

Ο

ÅΟΟÅΟΟÅ

Ο

Now then, to my word of thanks.

To start off, I’d like to thank all of the voice actors and actresses that participated in the making of the Drama CD. Thank you for your excellent acting and enthusiastic participation of recreating my lacking story. It felt as if Jaro’s group was actually alive and moving around in front of me. I’ll continue to be in your care!

Next, to my editor. Thank you for benevolently forgiving me even though I had pushed the deadline back. Thank you for planning out the Drama CD. Sorry for how much you had to work with. Sorry for delaying the schedule. Sorry for the canned food. Uhm, I’ll do my best from now on so something like this doesn’t happen again······. I think I said this back in volume 1 and 2, but I’ll do my best! Don’t throw me away!

Next, to the God Yoo Nameul. I’m sorry for forcing a hard schedule on you this volume as well. I truly am sorry······. Moreover, I’m truly grateful for when you read the first completed draft and cheered me on saying that it was good. Since the God Yoo Nameul told me it was good, I believed it was good. So if it isn’t good, then it’s the God Yoo Nameul’s fault······. That was a joke······. Thank you for your beautiful illustrations this volume as well! Please don’t throw me away!

I also want to thank a couple of special people this time.

First, Aranshistor who helped me set the time frames. You helped me organize the setting that was all over the place and gave me good pieces of advice, so I’m grateful. I don’t know how I could repay you······.

Additionally, I want to thank Unsweet Sweet Potato for helping me get a hold on the settings for volume 1 and 2 and having a look at my draft. When you told me to do volume 3 on my own and cheered me on, and when you praised me saying that I did a good job, that motivated me a lot. Thank you very much.

Next, I also want to thank the author of 〈Fog, Rain, or Heavy Rain〉, Author Ban Shiyeon. I’ve been a fan since your previous work 〈I Can Die If It’s For You〉, so I was really happy and delighted when you offered me advice and helped me a lot as a senior author. I hope I can continue to learn from you. Thank you very much.

Since I don’t have enough space, I’d like to thank the countless number of other people who I couldn’t thank here. No, really, I don’t have any more pages left······. Thank you all very much. Please continue to watch over me.

Finally, I’d like to give the biggest thanks to my readers who had been waiting patiently. I hope that this volume met your expectations. Please continue to take care of me!

I hope you enjoyed the volume. I’ll see you all in the next volume. Yours truly!

Ο

Ο

Ο

Ο

Ο

Ο

Ο

Ο

Ο

Illustrator’s Afterword

Ο

Ο

Ο

Hello everyone. I was also given the opportunity to leave an afterword, so I’d like to greet everyone. My name is Yoo Nameul and I’m in charge of the illustrations.

First, thank you for also purchasing volume 3! If the cover of the volume was able to influence you even slightly in your decision to buy the volume, then I can’t hope for anything more as the illustrator.

I always have a fun time reading the volumes whenever I receive the first drafts, so I also hope you all enjoyed them as much as I did. Seriously, I had a complete mental breakdown while reading the latter part of this volume······. I also choked up a couple of times because I felt so bad for Jjaro.

Well, compared to the first volume, the atmosphere has changed a lot, but I really like this sort of serious atmosphere, so this is a development that I can only hope for. I’m curious as to how Jjaro will act afterward. Ba dump, ba dump.

Finally, I’d like to thank the author for always writing a good story and the editor who works hard day and night.

I’ll do what I can to present to you all better illustrations in the next volume. I hope you had a good time.

Ο

Additionally, I also started to get confused about whether Nabom is a beauty mark character or not. OTL

467_Greyscale_Illustration


 

PREVIOUS CHAPTER | VOLUME 3 ILLUSTRATIONS

6 thoughts on “We Should Have Slept While Only Holding Hands, And Yet?!: Volume 3 – Author & Illustrator’s Afterwords

  1. Thanks for the chapter

    Could you please consider the korean novel “Queen’s Knight Kael” as a future project? So far she has been standing for 2 years with 5 chapters translated into English.

    Synopsis:A 500-year-old, low-ranking demon knight Kael suddenly finds himself inside a royal secret chamber, summoned out of the blue by Yulia D. Beatrice Scachiel— the precocious queen of Nesland who only turned eight recently. As it turns out, she’s in grave danger of getting killed by mysterious monsters that have appeared out of nowhere, and Kael is her only way out of the castle to safety!
    https://www.novelupdates.com/series/queens-knight-kael/

    Like

  2. I’m caught up again then. Wow, what a whirlwind change in pacing! But, by the end, I was starting to guess, so it works. Nice move on the author’s part, having the “real” storyline buried at the tail end of 3 volumes of what’s essential actually “just” exposition. The loss in detail that comes from the time skips and faster pacing after the festival is sorely missed, but if the whole thing had been diligently plodded through, it would have probably become far too slow and empty, too little plot scraped over too much bread.

    Thanks so much for translating this. It’s a gem, and I feel like I actually have a decent grasp of how time travel here works, as well as Jaim+Jaro’s emotional state, which can’t be easy to convey. Juggling “real life” on top of other tasks (like translating), I’m gradually finding out how difficult these things truly are, so thanks again.

    Like

Leave a comment